Connect with:
Saturday / September 18.
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Frontline Voices from India’s COVID-19 Crisis

May 8 @ 8:30 am 10:00 am UTC-8

A coalition of progressive Indian American and South Asian diaspora organizations invites you to a press conference with frontline workers from India and their allies. The speakers will offer testimonials about how they are coping in the face of the devastating Covid-19 health and humanitarian crisis, and also what the US Government, its allies and those in the diaspora can do to help alleviate the suffering. On April 29, 2021, GIPA and alliance partners released this joint statement on the crisis https://gipausa.org/events/ and the Press Conference builds upon our efforts. 

When: Saturday, May 8, 2021, 8:30 AM PST/ 10:30 AM CST/11:30 EST/9:00 pm IST

Zoom Registration Link: https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_JpoJCICsTLWULP45b861ow

Speakers:

Akriti Bhatia, New Delhi – Grassroots media and labor organizer; co-founder, PAIGAM, Delhi; and Advisory board member, Hindus for Human Rights

Mrs. Kalaimagal Arumugam, Pudukkottai, Tamil Nadu – Advisory board member, Dalit Solidarity Forum (DSF); Director, Thaai Education Program of DSF in Pudukkottai; and Founder and President, Dr. Ambedkar Women and Children’s Regeneration Program

(interpretation by Dr. Roja Singh, President, DSF) 

Himanshu Kumar, Bastar, Chhattisgarh –  Gandhian social activist; works at the grassroots for the rights of Adivasi communities 

Md. Ali Shariff, Bangalore – Secretary, Mercy Mission; Trustee HBS Hospital and Secretary, The Lifeline Foundation

Madhuri Sastry, US – Journalist and writer on human rights law and journalist; Marketing Director of Guernica, a non-profit magazine

For more information, please contact Global Indian Progressive Alliance at info@gipausa.org

No comments

leave a comment